A Salute to International Americans

The MOSAIC Awards is the signature event benefiting Jewish Family & Career Services. This dinner event recognizes new or first-generation immigrants and refugees who are making a significant contribution in their professions and in our community. Honorees receive the MOSAIC Award, which is an artistic representation of Multicultural Opportunities for Success and Achievement In our Community.

Providing programs and services for International Americans has been a part of the JFCS mission since its founding in 1908. By recognizing outstanding individuals who have succeeded in various fields, JFCS underscores the importance of the contributions that International Americans have made in our community and recognizes and spotlights the crucial role that newcomers play in creating a vibrant community.

2019 MOSAIC Award Nominations

Nominations for the 2019 MOSAIC Awards are now being accepted. Nominations are due November 1, 2018.
Click the button below to fill out the nomination form online.

Or, download a Word document of the nomination form to complete and send back to [email protected]

2018 Honorees

James O’Connor

Named Louisville City FC’s first head coach, O’Connor has guided Louisville’s professional soccer team to be the #1 team in the league, and ultimately winning the United Soccer League Championship in 2017.

Moshe Ohayon

Founder and Executive Director of Educational Justice, a nonprofit that designs and implements educational programs for high-potential students in underserved areas in Louisville.

Anoosh Shariat

Hospitality genius and Chef at Anoosh Bistro and Noosh Nosh Shariat was the first chef from Kentucky to appear on the Food Network.

Seema Sheth
Indian and Sudanese Descent

Successful Financial Representative at Northwestern Mutual and founder of Adulting Academy, an educational service in Louisville that teaches high school students the financial skills to become thriving, independent adults.

Dr. Shiao Woo

Medical Director of Louisville CyberKnife and Professor and Chairman of the Department Radiation Oncology, UofL School of Medicine, Woo is a board certified radiation oncologist specializing in the treatment of brain tumors and pediatric radiation oncology.

Learn More About the 2018 Honorees

Learn More

Event Details

Louisville Marriott Downtown
280 West Jefferson Street
Louisville, KY 40202

Date: May 23th, 2019

5:30 pm – Reception and Micro Business Showcase

6:30 pm – Dinner and Program


Family Tribute Sponsors JFCS offers a way to honor your parents, grandparents and other immigrant ancestors: recognize them with a Family Tribute at the MOSAIC Awards. The family tributes are part of a video presentation at the MOSAIC Awards, and family members in attendance will be recognized. Also, there is a permanent Family Tributes memorial on display in the lobby at JFCS. It is a wonderful opportunity to spotlight our immigrant ancestors in the context of honoring new Americans in the Louisville community. Tribute sponsorships are $500 and include two tickets to the MOSAIC Award dinner and ceremony, which takes place on Thursday, May 17, 2018, at the Omni Hotel. Current Family Tributes Include: The Bass Family, The Belker Family, The Berman Family, Mrs. Rebecca Bierman, The Blue Family, Mrs. Sandi Friedson, The Goldberg Family, The Hirsch Family, The Klempner Family, The Leibson Family, Mrs. Sadie Levy, The Pressma Family, The Robinson Family, Mr. Kucil Rosenstein, The Shapira Family, The Shapiro Family, The Spector Family, The Tobin Family, The Van Damm Family, Mr. Samuel Weisberg, and The Wolff Family.